UMPG named Publisher of the Year at Annual ASCAP Pop Awards

UMPG named Publisher of the Year at Annual ASCAP Pop Awards

Universal Music Publishing Group was named Publisher of the Year at the 35th Annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards in Los Angeles. This is the first time that UMPG has earned this recognition.

The company’s songwriters contributed to 22 of ASCAP’s Most Performed Pop Songs of 2017. Special honors were given to Steve Mac who was awarded Songwriter of the Year and Song of the Year for “Shape Of You.” Justin Bieber’s “Despacito” was awarded Most Streamed Song of the Year.

On UMPG’s recognition, Chairman and CEO Jody Gerson said: “ASCAP Publisher of the Year really belongs to our songwriters and to our devoted team across the globe. Each and every one of you plays a part in our collective success, and we are enormously grateful to you. To all of the writers in the room… you are breaking industry barriers, moving culture and giving a voice to humanity through your songs."  

Gerson also acknowledged industry-wide efforts in support the Music Modernization Act.

Let’s take an important moment to thank everyone who has worked so tirelessly and come together in one unified voice on the Music Modernization Act -- Beth, Paul and the staff at ASCAP; the NMPA and David Israelite; the teams at the other PROs; the songwriter groups; the RIAA and label groups; and even our digital partners. We still have a ways to go, but this is what we are all fighting for everyday – making sure songwriters get paid fairly. This is a truly historic moment.”

UMPG Songwriters Wins for ASCAP’s Most Performed Songs of 2017

Bad and Boujee – Quavo 

Body Like A Back Road – Sam Hunt

Bounce Back – Big Sean, Jeremih

Can’t Stop The Feeling – Justin Timberlake

Despacito – Justin Bieber

Feel It Still – Asa Taccone

I’m The One – Justin Bieber, Quavo

It Ain’t Me – Selena Gomez

Let Me Love You – Justin Bieber

No Promises – Demi Lovato, Emma Lov, Jackson Foote

Rockabye – Steve Mac

Side to Side – Ariana Grande

Shape of You – Steve Mac

Sorry Not Sorry –  Demi Lovato

Something Just Like This – Coldplay

Starboy – Jason “Daheala” Quenneville 

Stay – Zedd

Strip That Down – Quavo, Steve

That’s What I Like – Ray Charles McCullough II, James Fauntleroy

Thunder – Jayson DeZuzio

Unforgettable – Jeremih

What About Us – Steve Mac

Special Honorees

Steve Mac

Songwriter of the Year

Song of the Year

“Shape of You”

Justin Bieber

Most Streamed Song of the Year