UMPG artists in BBC Music Sound of 2018 longlist

UMPG artists in BBC Music Sound of 2018 longlist

BBC Music's picks for the Sound of 2018 have been revealed today. The list is curated by music experts and former nominees and features 16 acts who have been tipped for greatness in 2018.

The longlist includes three UMPG artists; guitar-driven psychedelic and soul artist Nilufer Yanya, vibrant, vulnerable pop writer Rex Orange County and gravel-voiced singer-songwriter Tom Walker.

Describing the list, BBC Radio 1’s Annie Mac said: “Some acts will be brand new to UK audiences and many have already started to make an impact. I can’t wait to be a part of their journey and see what the year ahead has in store for them all.”

BBC’s Sound of was launched in 2003 and has acted as a stepping stone for some of the biggest international artists, with previous winners including Adele (2008). The top five artists on the list will be revealed in January on BBC Radio 1, with one artist announced each day from Monday 8 January. The overall winner will be revealed on Friday 12 January during Clara Amfo’s mid morning show on Radio 1.