About Us

About UMPG Nashville

Nashville is known worldwide as the home of country music, currently evolving as the last bastion of pure songwriting. UMPG Nashville is recognized as one of Nashville’s premiere music publishers.

With a prolific staff of current songwriters, UMPG continues to deliver material that becomes hits for today’s country music elite - Taylor Swift, Keith Urban, Lady Antebellum, Jason Aldean, Carrie Underwood, Kenny Chesney, Rascal Flatts, Tim McGraw and Faith Hill to name a few. To categorize the songs being created by the UMPG Nashville writers as just country would be a big mistake. Artists of all genres find hit songs or collaborators from this versatile staff. These artists include Celine Dion, Bon Jovi, Eric Clapton, John Mayer, Ne-Yo, Paulina Rubio, Ricky Martin, Il Divo, and Michael Buble. In addition, the UMPG Nashville catalog spans the entire chasm of the musical landscape: the 1940’s Folk/Blues of the Delmore Brothers; the 1950’s and 1960’s classics of Carl Perkins, Johnny Cash and Buddy Holly; through the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s with Don Williams, Waylon Jennings, The Judds, Alabama and George Strait. It also includes country classics from Webb Pierce, Brenda Lee, Mel Tillis, Garth Brooks, Dixie Chicks, Alan Jackson, Vince Gill and Shania Twain.

Some of UMPG Nashville’s most classic and popular song titles include: “Friends In Low Places,” “Thunder Rolls” and “If Tomorrow Never Comes” by Garth Brooks, “Breathe,” “This Kiss,” “It Matters To Me” by Faith Hill “Daddy Sang Bass” by Johnny Cash, “Gone Country” and “It Must Be Love” by Alan Jackson, “Good Old Boys Like Me” by Don Williams, “Change The World” by Eric Clapton, “I Can’t Make You Love Me” by Bonnie Raitt, “Blues Stay Away From Me” by the Delmore Brothers, “The Devil Went Down To Georgia” by Charlie Daniels, “That Don’t Impress Me Much” and “Honey I’m Home” by Shania Twain, “Strawberry Wine” by Deana Carter, “Forty Hour Week” by Alabama, “I Hope You Dance” by Lee Ann Womack, “Walkaway Joe” and “Wrong Side Of Memphis” by Trisha Yearwood, “Blue Clear Sky” and “The Chair” by George Strait , “Ain’t Nothin’ ‘Bout You” by Brooks and Dunn, “Amazed” by Lonestar, “Bless the Broken Road,” and “What Hurts the Most” by Rascal Flatts, “Tonight I Wanna Cry”, “Till Summer Comes Around” by Keith Urban, “So Small” by Carrie Underwood, “Take A Back Road” by Rodney Atkins”, “Wanted” by Hunter Hayes, “Pontoon” by Little Big Town, and “Take Your Time” by Sam Hunt.

UMPG Nashville owns and administers many prominent catalogs. The list of catalog writers and current staff writers includes Bob McDill, Rivers Rutherford, Gary Burr, Pat Alger, Kent Robbins, Matraca Berg, Dickey Lee, Kostas, Troy Verges, Chris Young, Marijohn Wilkin, John D. Loudermilk, Stephanie Bentley, David Lee, Craig Wiseman, Keith Urban and many more.