Seinabo Sey - new single 'I Owe You Nothing / Remember'

Seinabo Sey - new single 'I Owe You Nothing / Remember'

Seinabo Sey has announced her new single 'I Owe You Nothing' and accompanying b-side 'Remember ft. Jacob Banks' both are out now. This announcement marks Seinabo Sey's first new music in over two years since the release of her critically acclaimed debut album 'Pretend' in 2015.

Seinabo has once again teamed up with close friend and producer MagnusTheMagnus (aka Magnus Lidehäll) as well as previous collaborators Vincent Pontare and Salem Al Fakir (Vargas & Lagola) plus her friend Isak Alverus, all signed to UMPG. The result is a defiant and rousing brand of soulful, relentlessly catchy multi-genre pop.  

The new music sees Seinabo crafting songs revolving around the issues about which she has been vocal on social media and in her enchanting live performances: womanhood and feminism, identity, body positivity and an adherence to loving yourself.  

Pushing her art to the next level, Seinabo has taken much of the creative direction for the new record into her own hands, spending the past few months in Gambia (her father’s home country) to film music videos and shoot a plethora of breathtaking new images which encompass her new direction. In the 'I Owe You Nothing' video, Seinabo blends the rich, bright colours of local fabrics with confidence that is evident throughout, she explains “I figured it’s time I stand up for myself and this is my best way of doing that.” Watch the video below. 

Seinabo Sey rose to critical acclaim in 2015 following the release of two EPs and her debut album 'Pretend'. The album was certified gold in Sweden, earned her a 2015 Swedish Grammy Award for Best Newcomer (winning Best Pop the following year too) and a P3 Gold Award for Artist of the Year, as well as the European Border Breaker Award in 2016. Seinabo spent three years around the release of the album touring the globe, stunning audiences with her expressive, soulful voice seeing her play festivals like Way Out West, Glastonbury and Roskilde as well as TV performances on Late Night with Conan O’Brien in the US and Later… with Jools Holland in the UK.

 Listen to 'I Owe You Nothing / Remember'

Seinabo Sey - new single 'I Owe You Nothing / Remember'