UMPG Australia Signs Hopium To Global Publishing Deal

UMPG Australia Signs Hopium To Global Publishing Deal

SYDNEY – February 23, 2018 – Universal Music Publishing Australia today announced that singer-songwriter, producer and multi-instrumentalist Josh Hardy, who performs as Hopium, has been signed to a global publishing deal.
The London-based, Australian-born musician first broke out with the track ‘Dreamers’ which gained international traction. The song was later sampled by Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth on global hit ‘See You Again.’ 
In making the announcement, Arwen Hunt, Vice President of A&R at UMPG Australia & New Zealand, said, “Josh is such a talent and has an intrinsic flair for writing killer hooks. Since first meeting in London back in 2016, Josh has worked closely with our incredible creative teams here and in the UK on his development as a gifted songwriter. We’re immensely proud to have Josh as part of the Universal Music Publishing family and look forward to the world hearing his songs.”

"I’m super excited to sign with UMPG and getting to work with Arwen, Nora, Jack and the rest of the Universal team,” Hopium said. “I feel honored to be in the company of some of the world's best!” 

The signing announcement coincides with Hopium today releasing his long-awaited follow up single ‘Leave,’ co-written with Benji Miller and Klaxons member Jamie Reynolds. Heavily influenced by modern R&B, hip-hop, synth-pop and indietronica, ‘Leave’ incorporates swathes of synths, filtered vocals and Hopium’s slick falsetto, all combining to create a mesmerising, broken-hearted ambience.
Having spent the past three years honing his songwriting skills in Berlin and London, Hopium recently signed to Warner Bros. Records UK. Building towards a debut EP, his next single, ‘Sunglasses,’ is set for release in April 2018. 

Hopium joins UMP Australia’s roster that includes Alex The Astronaut, Bag Raiders, Cloves, Cosmo’s Midnight, Ecca Vandal, Gang of Youths, Guy Sebastian, Holy Holy, Horrorshow, Jessica Mauboy, Jonti, Joyride, JOY., Lakyn, Maribelle, Olympia, One Above, The Veronicas, Thief, Robinson, Ruel, Vera Blue, Woodes and many more.