Empire of the Sun - 'Ice on the Dune'

Empire of the Sun - 'Ice on the Dune'

Empire of the Sun - Nick Littlemore (Pnau) and Luke Steele (The Sleepy Jackson) - release their second studio album ‘Ice on the Dune’ today. The release comes five years after their million-plus selling debut ‘Walking on a Dream’, which garnered international acclaim, eight ARIA awards and two Brit nominations, including Best International Album.

On their second album the duo continue their exploration of “crystalline, ultra-vivid cosmic pop… music for the heart, the head, the feet and the soul (head-dress optional).”

“Music for us is about articulating the feelings you can’t put into words" Nick explains. "In the same way different languages don’t fully translate, music can bridge that gap emotionally. We want to make music that is transcendental.”

The Guardian award ‘Ice on the Dune’ 4 stars, noting that “The follow-up takes (Walking on a Dream’s) template – naggingly catchy pop given a euphoric dance twist – and marries it to an even stronger set of songs”, whilst The Huffington Post simply declare “Wherever you dance this summer, you will be dancing to this record.”